RPF Chairman demands accountability from new parliament

The Chairman of RPF Inkotanyi, President Paul Kagame has urged members of parliament to discharge their mandate with diligence during their five-year term.


According to the President, the legislators, who were sworn in from Parliament on Wednesday, should put in place measures to increase government oversight, which is their core mandate.


The 80 members of parliament were sworn in following their election earlier in September and immediately after, they elected their leadership, the Bureau.


The Bureau is made up of the Speaker and two deputy speakers – one for legislative affairs and government oversight and another one for finance and administration.


Donatille Mukabalisa was re-elected speaker while her deputies were elected in Edda Mukabagwiza (legislative affairs and oversight) and Musa Fazil Harelimana for finance and administration.


“We expect you to hold government accountable for doing their job of serving citizens and delivering development…you interacted with citizens when you were asking for their votes. Now that you have been elected, remain close to citizens, serve them and deliver on the promises you made,” the Chairman told the new MPs.


He added: “This is not just about a ceremony. It is about starting a new mandate and committing to working hard.”


According to the Chairman, Rwandans placed their trust in the legislators to serve them and work towards transforming the country into what Rwandans want and deserve.


President Kagame: We have new members of parliament and new parties. They are joining parliament to work together and collaborate towards transforming this country.


“We expect you to hold government accountable for doing their job of serving citizens and delivering development.


President Kagame added that in Rwanda, things will change based on what Rwandans choose, and not what others choose for them.


In the new parliament, RPF-Inkotanyi and its allied political parties won 40 seats with 74 per cent of the votes from 6.6 million Rwandans who took part in the direct vote, according to electoral commission.

The Social Democratic Party (PSD) and Liberal Party (PL) obtained five seats and four seats, respectively.

On the other hand, new entrants; Democratic Green Party of Rwanda and PS Imberakuri each won two seats.

Newcomers Democratic Green Party of Rwanda and PS-Imberakuri secured two seats each after they each secured the minimum threshold of 5 per cent of the votes.

Representatives of women, youth and people living with disabilities were picked through electoral colleges of the respective special interest groups.


Latest News

Youtube Video