ITU boss decorated with Agaciro medal

The RPF Chairman, President Paul Kagame on June 14 awarded Houlin Zhao, Secretary-General of International Telecommunication Union (ITU) with the National Order of Honour (Agaciro Medal).

The award came in recognition of Zhao’s distinguished service as the leader of ITU during “a very consequential period” for the globalization of telecommunications technology, according to the Office of the President. 

Agaciro Medal is awarded to a Rwandan or foreign Head of State or Head of Government, the head of an international organisation or a high-ranking official who has distinguished himself or herself by acts promoting the interests of Rwanda in political, economic, and social welfare at national or international level. 

This happens at a time when Kigali is hosting the World Telecommunication Development Conference (WTDC) since June 6 to 16, organized by ITU for the first time in Africa. 

During the conference, global leaders made a case for universal and affordable broadband, considering that more than one-third of the world's population is yet to be connected.

The RPF Chairman is also the current co-chair of the Broadband Commission for Sustainable Development, which was established to champion deeper and affordable broadband connectivity across the globe.


Youtube Video